Netflix Profiles Back On Track

The Netflix queue system was a complete mystery in the past until Sound & Vision peaked behind the curtains to see how the system worked. Unfortunately, Netflix planned on nixing one of its best features - separate user profiles that let shared accounts create separate queues. An online storm followed this announcement, and after careful consideration, Netflix has changed their plans. 

Netflix decided to reinstate Queue Profiles, with the following statement, "You spoke and we listened. We are keeping Profiles. Thank you for all the calls and emails telling us how important Profiles are. What was all the fuss about?

 Box_small First, what are these profiles? They're a way that shared accounts can keep separate queues. You and your girlfriend share an account, but your list leans towards Clint Eastwood while hers has a definite Renée Zellweger slant. By having separate profiles, you can each have a list of queued movies, so her romantic comedies don't shove your war dramas to the bottom of the list. Apparently, Netflix thought that eliminating these separate lists was in the best interest of most users. What? If you didn't want or need the extra profiles, you could just ignore them.

Netflix finally came to their senses and changed their mind. Yippee. Now go and create all the lists you want. Choice is good. -Leslie Shapiro

 The Netflix Queue: How's It Work?

Share | |

X
Enter your Sound & Vision username.
Enter the password that accompanies your username.
Loading
setting var node_statistics_108042